The Conway Pubic Library will be closed on Monday, May 27th.

*We will open on May 28th from 10:00am-8:00pm*

all Databases

Viewing from home?

Conway Public Library offers a number of different databases that cover variety of subjects. Databases are resources the library provides that contain information from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and reference books. To access the library's databases from home, a library card in good standing is required. 


Select and open the desired database and enter your fourteen digit library card number to access remotely.

 

Please note: Ancestry.com is only accessible from within the library facility.



This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly.

Enter your name and the names of close family members, then let Ancestry Hints grow your family tree. Making a family tree has never been so easy. You never know who you'll find!

*only accessible from inside the library*

Ancestry Library contains unparalleled coverage of the U.S. and the U.K., including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. This collection contains well over 4,000 databases and 1.5 billion names.

Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

Consumer Health Complete supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.

Consumer Reports offers articles, blogs, forums, and videos to enable consumers to make better purchasing decisions on products—from dishwashers, to digital cameras, to infant car seats—to save money on home improvements plans, shore up personal finances, improve health, and more.

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.

Designed to meet the unique needs of its users,Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality. With Explora, you will discover reliable information on thousands of topics covering a wide range of subjects including art and music, literature, language arts, geography, history, social studies, world cultures and languages, science, technology, engineering, mathematics, health and sports.

This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.

Heritage Quest Online is a premier genealogy resource and includes 25,000 books, U.S. Federal Census, family histories, and many indexes as resources. 

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra: School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

NoveList Plus is a comprehensive readers' advisory resource. In addition to the fiction database that NoveList has offered, NoveList Plus adds nonfiction to provide a complete solution for your readers. With NoveList Plus, you can find titles, articles, and lists for both your fiction and nonfiction needs.

Created especially for children and the adults who work with them, NoveList K-8 Plus is an online database of reading recommendations which encourages reader success.

Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Our extensive range of products allows you to learn a language on your own terms and in your own time. With our comprehensive multi-media packages you will be speaking and improving your language skills with every lesson by taking part in the modern, everyday conversations that make up our Interactive Audio Course. In addition, you will learn to speak the language naturally with our language and culture lessons and you can also build on your vocabulary and improve your audio recognition of common words and phrases (and have fun at the same time) with our popular Master Games range.

Salud en Español provee reportes completos basados en evidencias y fichas de datos relacionados a todos los aspectos de la salud y el bienestar. Reportes específicos por tema que cubren todos los aspectos de la salud, dan información general importante en relación a enfermedades, afecciones y procedimientos de diversos tratamientos.

The Reporter newspaper was established by Charles H. Blanchard as the Sandwich Reporter. The first edition of this weekly newspaper was dated June 7, 1883. In the mid 1890s Mr. Blanchard moved the printing operation to North Conway and from March 14, 1895 through June 3, 1909 the paper was known as The White Mountain Reporter. On June 10, 1909 it became known simply as The Reporter until its last issue was published on November 26, 1992.

The Conway Public Library has digitized 24 reels of microfilm from March 14, 1895 to Dec 30, 1943. An additional 46 reels still need to be digitized before the full run of The Reporter can be made available online. If you are interested in sponsoring the digitization of one reel of film (or more), please contact Library Director David Smolen at (603)447-5552 for more information.

The Reporter newspaper was established by Charles H. Blanchard as the Sandwich Reporter. The first edition of this weekly newspaper was dated June 7, 1883. In the mid 1890s Mr. Blanchard moved the printing operation to North Conway and from March 14, 1895 through June 3, 1909 the paper was known as The White Mountain Reporter. On June 10, 1909 it became known simply as The Reporter until its last issue was published on November 26, 1992.

The Conway Public Library has digitized 24 reels of microfilm from March 14, 1895 to Dec 30, 1943. An additional 46 reels still need to be digitized before the full run of The Reporter can be made available online. If you are interested in sponsoring the digitization of one reel of film (or more), please contact Library Director David Smolen at (603)447-5552 for more information.

TOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.