The Conway Public Library will be closed on January 18th in observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day.
We will reopen January 19th at 9AM
Conway Public Library offers a number of different databases that cover variety of subjects. Databases are resources the library provides that contain information from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and reference books. To access the library's databases from home, a library card in good standing is required.
Select and open the desired database and enter your fourteen digit library card number to access remotely.
Please note: Ancestry.com is only accessible from within the library facility.
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Click here to generate a free, 72-hour access code to view the New York Times online.
To activate your access code, you’ll first need to log in or register through the New York Times website. Your access will automatically expire after 72 hours. To renew your subscription, simply click here again to generate a new access code. No credit card is required to redeem your code. Code provides access to both the New York Times website and mobile app.
An access code is not required if viewing from a library computer or when connected to the library's WiFi.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
The Reporter newspaper was established by Charles H. Blanchard as the Sandwich Reporter. The first edition of this weekly newspaper was dated June 7, 1883. In the mid 1890s Mr. Blanchard moved the printing operation to North Conway and from March 14, 1895 through June 3, 1909 the paper was known as The White Mountain Reporter. On June 10, 1909 it became known simply as The Reporter until its last issue was published on November 26, 1992.
The Conway Public Library has digitized 24 reels of microfilm from March 14, 1895 to Dec 30, 1943. An additional 46 reels still need to be digitized before the full run of The Reporter can be made available online. If you are interested in sponsoring the digitization of one reel of film (or more), please contact Library Director David Smolen at (603)447-5552 for more information.