The Conway Pubic Library will be closed on Thursday, November 26th & Friday, November 27th in observance of the Thanksgiving Holiday.
*We will open November 28th from 9:00am-1:00pm*
Conway Public Library offers a number of different databases that cover variety of subjects. Databases are resources the library provides that contain information from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and reference books. To access the library's databases from home, a library card in good standing is required.
Select and open the desired database and enter your fourteen digit library card number to access remotely.
Please note: Ancestry.com is only accessible from within the library facility.
Enter your name and the names of close family members, then let Ancestry Hints grow your family tree. Making a family tree has never been so easy. You never know who you'll find!
*only accessible from inside the library*
Ancestry Library contains unparalleled coverage of the U.S. and the U.K., including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. This collection contains well over 4,000 databases and 1.5 billion names.
Heritage Quest Online is a premier genealogy resource and includes 25,000 books, U.S. Federal Census, family histories, and many indexes as resources.
The Reporter newspaper was established by Charles H. Blanchard as the Sandwich Reporter. The first edition of this weekly newspaper was dated June 7, 1883. In the mid 1890s Mr. Blanchard moved the printing operation to North Conway and from March 14, 1895 through June 3, 1909 the paper was known as The White Mountain Reporter. On June 10, 1909 it became known simply as The Reporter until its last issue was published on November 26, 1992.
The Conway Public Library has digitized 24 reels of microfilm from March 14, 1895 to Dec 30, 1943. An additional 46 reels still need to be digitized before the full run of The Reporter can be made available online. If you are interested in sponsoring the digitization of one reel of film (or more), please contact Library Director David Smolen at (603)447-5552 for more information.